Visa Waiver Agreement between UAE and Uzbekistan

mosque, UAE

Starting from January 15, 2024, citizens of the UAE are no longer required to undergo the process of obtaining an electronic visa before entering Uzbekistan. Simultaneously, Uzbek citizens holding biometric passports will be exempted from the visa application requirement when entering the United Arab Emirates, thanks to a memorandum jointly signed by the governments of both countries. This memorandum extends its benefits to holders of regular passports as well as individuals possessing special and mission passports that grant visa exemptions.

The official announcement of this development came from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the United Arab Emirates, with the signatures of Khaled Abdullah Belhoul, Deputy Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Abdulaziz Akkulov, Ambassador of the Republic of Uzbekistan to the UAE.

This memorandum signing marks a significant stride in the ongoing effort to fortify relations between the UAE and Uzbekistan, aiming to streamline travel between the two nations. This progressive step signifies a pivotal phase in the broadening cooperation across various domains, including politics, economics, culture, education, and other areas of shared interest. The effective commencement of this memorandum is scheduled for February 16, 2024. In the year 2023, the UAE welcomed 119.45 thousand Uzbek citizens, who collectively spent $9.2 million on tourist visas.

Presently, holders of UAE passports enjoy visa-free entry to 131 countries, with an additional eTA application necessary for travel to three specific countries. Visa on Arrival (VOA) facilities are applicable to UAE passport holders for visits to 34 countries, while 32 other countries mandate the procurement of a visa for individuals from the UAE. Uzbekistan will now be excluded from the list of 21 countries requiring an e-visa for entry by UAE nationals.

Conversely, Uzbek passport holders encounter more constrained travel options, as they are obligated to obtain visas for visits to 144 countries. Uzbekistan currently holds a VOA agreement with 32 countries, and an e-visa is mandatory for travel to 19 countries.