What's an ETA?

ETA (Electronic Travel Authorization) is an electronic travel authorization. Citizens of countries that do not normally require a visa for short-term travel to a particular country will need to obtain this authorization before traveling.

ETA is a new requirement for individuals who do not require a visa for entry. It is a travel authorization that is electronically linked to your passport. Obtaining an ETA is less complicated than the traditional visitor or tourist visa process. However, if you do not obtain an ETA in advance, you may be denied entry into the country when you cross the border.

Please note that this program does not apply to nationals of the destination country or holders of residence permits in the destination country, visa holders (e.g., work, student, etc.), provided the requirements are met.

If your application is approved, you will receive notification to your email address. ETAs are usually valid for 2 years from the date of issuance or until your passport expires (whichever comes first). Since the ETA will be linked to your passport, you will need to enter the country using that passport or apply for a new ETA if necessary. The electronic travel authorization is reusable and can be used either when passing through the border through the electronic border crossing system or through a border control checkpoint.

If your ETA application is denied, you will need to apply for the appropriate visa depending on the purpose of your travel. It should be noted that an ETA does not guarantee entry into the country and you may be denied entry at the border or airport.

What is the difference between ETA and eVisa?

The eTA and eVisa are two separate types of travel documents. They work in a similar way but have some differences. Many countries and territories have visa policies that require certain visitors to carry one of these documents with them. Without one of these required travel authorizations, visitors may be denied travel to their destination.

An e-visa is a special type of visa for which the application is submitted and processed entirely online. It operates in the same way as a regular visa, allowing its holder to enter and stay in the country that issued it. An e-visa has many advantages, making it a preferred choice for many travelers. It is much easier to apply for such a visa than other types of visas due to the simple online system. The application is quickly processed online, and an approved visa usually arrives within a few days. Because the e-visa is completed entirely online, the applicant does not need to appear in person to apply. There is no need to visit an embassy or consulate, you can apply from the comfort of your own home.

An eTA is an electronic travel authorization that allows travelers to visit the issuing country without the need for a visa. This is especially useful for citizens of countries with visa-free travel. Instead of a traditional visa, travelers can use an eTA. This document has many similar benefits to the eVisa.

The process of applying for an eTA is very simple as it is done online. Unlike a regular visa or other documents, applying for an eTA takes much less time. You do not need to visit an official government office in person to apply.

You can apply for an eTA online.

An electronic travel authorization is not a visa. An electronic travel authorization can only be obtained by travelers who are citizens of a country that is part of the visa-free entry program for that destination. In contrast, electronic visas are generally available to citizens of most countries and territories. The two documents also differ in their validity period and travel restrictions. An e-visa is usually valid for 30 to 60 days, while an electronic entry permit often has a longer validity period. An electronic entry permit also allows its holder to enter the destination country multiple times, while an e-visa is usually a single entry.

What documents are typically required to process an ETA?

Specific requirements for electronic travel authorizations may vary, but most electronic authorization systems share common basic prerequisites. These requirements are usually simple and easy to fulfill for most applicants. They include:

Valid travel passport

All applicants must possess a valid passport. It should normally be valid for at least six months, although it is recommended to have a longer validity period as the electronic travel authorization is linked to your passport.

Bank card

Applicants are required to provide valid credit or debit card details to pay the fees associated with the electronic travel authorization. Some systems may also offer alternative electronic payment methods, such as PayPal, as additional options

E-mail address

Applicants must provide a valid email address during the application process in order to receive their clearance if approved

Personal photo

Some types of electronic entry permits may require applicants to upload a personal photo or take a photograph directly from the camera of a mobile device during the application process. Examples of such requirements can be found in the Australian and New Zealand e-entry permits.

In which countries does the ETA apply?

Australia (ETA)

valid for 12 months and allows a stay of up to 3 months per visit

New Zealand (NZeTA)

valid for 2 years for regular travelers and 5 years for crew members. Allows a stay of up to 6 months in any 12-month period

Canada (eTA)

valid for 5 years and allows a stay of up to 6 months per visit


valid for 2 years and allows a stay of up to 90 days per visit

South Korea (K-ETA)

is valid for 2 years and the authorized period of stay per visit depends on nationality, but is usually between 1 and 3 months


valid for 2 years and allows a maximum stay of 6 months per visit. It is planned to be implemented from 2024.


is valid for 3 years and allows the holder to stay in the Schengen area for up to 90 days in any period of 180 days. It is planned to be implemented in 2025.

Hong Kong

pre-entry registration


180 days


available to citizens of only 5 countries: Republic of Congo, Guinea, Israel, Mali, Thailand


issued for 90 days

Sri Lanka

issued for 30 days to citizens of 20 countries

Have questions about your visa application?

Send us your question and our manager will call you back promptly
Thank you for your message!
We will contact you as soon as possible.
Kind regards,
Visa-Navigator.com team
An error occurred
Was the page helpful to you?
Rate Like
Rate Dislike
Need more details?
Want to leave feedback or a comment?
Found an error?
Leave a comment 
Thank you, your feedback is important for us!
An error occurred