China has introduced a unilateral visa-free regime


China has introduced a unilateral visa-free regime for citizens of the following countries: France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Malaysia on an experimental basis, according to a message posted on the official page of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the PRC social network WeChat. During the briefing, the official representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China Mao Ning announced that the holders of general passports of these six countries in the period from 1 December this year to 30 November 2024 will be able to stay in China without a visa for commercial and tourist activities, visits to relatives and friends, as well as in transit for up to 15 days. Mao Ning stressed that China has decided to expand the scope of the unilateral visa regime on an experimental basis and introduce visa-free travel for ordinary passport holders from the said countries.

At the same time, it is reported that citizens of these countries whose purpose of visit does not coincide with the above, as before, will have to obtain a visa before entering the territory of China. According to the statement, the move is taken to boost international ties, promote quality development and high-level openness.

It is important to note that due to the onset of the coronavirus pandemic in March 2020, China temporarily tightened its entry rules, only starting to issue visas in March this year.

In our visa center you can apply for a visa to China. Learn more about China and go on a trip.

Learn more about visas to China