Sri Lanka has announced the extension of the ETA visa-free period for nationals of seven countries

Bridge, Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka, known for its rich cultural attractions and magnificent scenery, is extending the Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) for a visa-free period for citizens of seven countries. The move is aimed at attracting more travellers and boosting the country's tourism industry.

Sri Lanka's Tourism Minister Harin Fernando announced the extension of the visa-free entry programme for travellers from India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia and Thailand. The programme, launched in November 2023, was originally due to end on 31 March but has been extended until 30 April 2024.

The signing of this programme is a key step for Sri Lanka in attracting tourists from around the world. Specifically, nationals of the listed countries holding ordinary as well as diplomatic, service passports can avail of the visa-free regime provided under the ETA without paying the relevant visa fees.

The purpose of extending the visa-free period for tourists from these countries is to create a more attractive environment to visit Sri Lanka. Visa-free travel allows tourists to process their trip to the country more easily and quickly, which could lead to an increase in visitor arrivals.Minister Fernando expressed confidence that with this initiative, the number of tourists visiting Sri Lanka will increase significantly. The country's future plans are to reach the five million tourist mark in the coming years.