Malawi announces lifting of visa requirements for 48 countries

Beaches of Malawi

In February 2023, Malawi's president announced plans to simplify visa regulations to attract more tourists and foreign investment to the country. This decision was part of a strategy to position Malawi as an open and welcoming destination in Africa.

Today, these plans have become a reality: from the beginning of 2024, legislative changes came into effect that abolished the visa regime for citizens of 48 countries. Now citizens of: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Brunei, Canada, China, Cyprus, Dominica, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Solomon Islands, Ireland, USA, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Kiribati, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Nauru, Norway, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom, Russia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu.

These include Malawi's key partners - the US, Canada, UK, France, Belgium and other countries in Europe, Asia and the Americas. Visas for nationals of SADC and COMESA countries have also been canceled, apart from those introducing visas for Malawi nationals. Holders of UN, AU and AfDB special passes can visit Malawi for work without visas.

According to the Malawi government, this will not only make the country more attractive to tourists, but will also serve to strengthen cultural and economic ties with the rest of the world. Visa facilitation is a bold and important step towards Malawi's integration into the global community.

Malawi has introduced an online e-visa issuance system

As of November 1, 2019, Malawi allows foreign nationals to obtain electronic visas (e-Visa) to enter the country. This allows them to apply for a visa remotely without visiting government offices.

The e-Visa application process has been simplified and automated as much as possible. Applicants can apply online and the fee is paid electronically.

The following categories of e-Visa are available for citizens of foreign countries: single entry visa for 3 months, multiple entry visa for 6 months, annual multiple entry visa.

The introduction of e-Visa demonstrates the Malawi authorities' commitment to simplify and speed up the entry visa procedure, making the country more open and attractive to tourists and business travelers.